Eggs in A Cloud Recipe

Let me preface this by saying I am no whiz or genius in the kitchen. I can whip up a few things to save my life, but to be honest, I see a husband who will be cooking 99% of the meals in my future lol !

Most of the recipes on my blog took so many tries to get it right. For each recipe I get right, there are 6 more which bit the dust. Even though I find it difficult, I keep trying to gain some skills. Hopefully if I try enough, i’ll get it right at least once then muscle memory will take over.

egg in a cloud

Beautiful egg on a cloud from domacica.com

I’ve seen this recipe all over Pinterest for the past few weeks! I looks so good in the pictures, and the tutorial videos make it look so easy. For me, it’s not. I guess you can tell by now that this did not turn out so well. To be honest, it’s not difficult, but I can be a little klutz sometimes ha.

Wednesday morning I finally decided to take the plunge and try out this recipe. I cracked, separated, whipped and lightly mixed as well as I could. Funny enough, my dad, grandma and I still ate it even though I left it in the oven too long – I was trying to get the yolks to the perfect hardness because I don’t like runny eggs – and it got dry and crispy.

I think I needed to whip up the egg whites into stiffer peaks than I did because as soon as I mixed in the shredded cheddar, it began to revert O.o . You can see the runny part all over the pan separated from the fluffy clouds. Maybe the salt had something to do with it. I also didn’t add as many ingredients as the original recipe because I didn’t have them on hand. When I tried using the bottle to separate the yolks, most burst so I could only top 2. We won’t talk about the one on the bottom left.

egg in a cloud attempt

So many things wrong with this photo … lol I tried!!

I probably should have taken them out 2 minutes after this, but that didn’t happen.

20170802_144516036_iOS

In the oven a baking!

I didn’t take a photo of the final product. Trust me you aren’t missing out.

Anyhoo … here’s the original article from Buzzfeed:

Make Your Dreams Come True With This Easy Eggs In A Cloud Recipe

The instructions in the article are as follows:

“Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 4 eggs, yolks separated
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • β…“ cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • β…“ cup bacon, crumbled
  • ΒΌ cup chives, chopped
  • Two mixing bowls
  • Electric mixer or whisk
  • Baking tray

egg cloud

Egg on a cloud from delish.com

Here’s what you’ll do:

1) Preheat oven to 450Β°F/230Β°C.

2) Separate the eggs: egg whites in one bowl and egg yolks each into their own bowls.

3) Using an electric mixer or whisk, mix the egg whites until thick and fluffy.

4) Fold in bacon, parmesan cheese, and chives. Do not overfold.

5) Scoop onto baking tray and make an indent in the middle using the back of a spoon.

6) Bake for 5-8 minutes or until egg whites start to brown.

7) Place the egg yolks into center of the egg whites. Bake for 3 more minutes.

8) Enjoy!

 

I had big hopes for this one because it was such an interesting take on eggs. With more practice, I’ll master this cloud business!!

Will you try it? If you do, let me know! Tried any interesting recipes lately?

Be happy, healthy and a cooking!!

Karissa πŸ™‚


P.S. I’m particularly proud of this recipe:Β Banana Bread with Cream Cheese FillingΒ ! I worked so hard on this one lol Go check it out!

9 Comments

  1. Here you go:
    Now, as per the rules of this award, I have to ask 11 questions. Here are my questions-

    1. Who is your favorite super hero and (optional) why?
    2. If you could go any where in the world where would you go and (optional)why?
    3. What is the strangest thing you’ve ever eaten?
    4. Describe your self in 3 words
    5. What is the thing you’re most afraid of?
    6. What was the last movie you watched?
    7. What makes you angry?
    8. If you have 30 minutes of free time, what do you prefer doing?
    9. Which movie or book did you find the most inspiring and why?
    10. What is one of your favorite quotes?
    11. What’s the #1 most played song on your playlist?

    Rules:

    Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you
    Answer the 11 questions given by the blogger
    Nominate 11 other bloggers
    Ask 11 new questions for them to answer

    Sorry couldn’t find your email ID so putting them all in the comment. Feel free to delete this comment after you copy

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. This looks so yummy! They always make it look so easy in the videos, don’t they? Lol . Happens with me too, 5 out of 10 times, I end up rupturing the yolk when I am trying to separate them πŸ˜€
    BTW I just nominated you for Liebster Award, do take a look. Let me know if you want me to send you the questions over, because copy option is disabled on my blog..xX

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

